Music by nobody
News and updatesStream or download musicAbout SVCStore

Antemortem (01/2017) by Until Death Overtakes Me

 Tracklist (total length = 69:18)

1. Before
2. Days Without Hope
3. The Wait
4. Inevitability
Released on 01 January 2017 by Dusktone.
Click here to visit the Dusktone Bandcamp page, where the album can be purchased in pysical of digital format.

Through 4 tracks mixing funeral doom with ambient and darkwave, Until Death Overtakes Me explores the idea of life being incomplete unless it passes death's threshold.
Antemortem (before death) is not a glorification of death, but focusses on the path to it. Life with its pains and terrors might long for the end, but could just as well explore the freedom that comes with accepting the inevitable.
The contrast between heavy distorted guitars and ethereal ambient melodies mirrors life, but offers an open ending - is life a pained struggle, where one is shoved forwards, closer to death all the time, forcing one to blindly squeeze as much meaning out of every moment, or is it rather a calm stream that gently carries one to the completion of a journey that's best experienced with eyes wide open, regardless of what may come after? More likely, both aspects remain at play : primal instincts balanced by intelligent rationality.

Antemortem is the first Until Death Overtakes Me album after a long hiatus, and forms a bridge between the periods before and after this break.
The track 'Before' dates back to late 2003, 'Days Without Hope' is based on a track that's even older by several years, and best marks the point in time where Until Death Overtakes Me went from darkwave/doom to ambient funeral doom. On the other hand there are the tracks 'The Wait' and 'Inevitability', both from 2016. 'The Wait' is more a experimental, almost mechanical sounding epic, while 'Inevitability' is an instrumental marking the acceptance of the concept of 'Antemortem', as well as its conclusion.

Albums by Until Death Overtakes Me

--- 11/2000 ---
Split album
--- 03/2001 ---
Deep Dark Red
--- 10/2001 ---
Absence Of Life
--- 02/2003 ---
Prelude To Monolith
--- 01/2004 ---
Funeral Path

--- 09/2004 ---
--- 10/2009 ---
Days Without Hope
--- 08/2016 ---
Well of Dreams
--- 01/2017 ---
Flow Of Infinity
--- 01/2017 ---

--- 04/2017 ---
Hell & Rain
--- 07/2018 ---
They Know
--- 07/2018 ---
--- 09/2019 ---
Herald of Sorrow
--- 05/2020 ---
And Be No More

 --- 05/2021 ---
As Dead As Time
--- 02/2022 ---
Collapse of Light
--- 02/2023 ---
Decay Into Irrel...

Website and contents by nobody